Golden Celebration and Zepherine Drouhin

These two roses are finally settling into my yard and are covered with buds this year. Last year they each teased me with one or two blooms. This is Zepherine Drouhin’s 4th or 5th summer in my yard, I think, and Golden Celebration’s 3rd. Golden Celebration was a tiny “own root” one-gallon baby when I first got her, that’s partly why it took so long for her to get going. Zeffy, being a climber, was slow to establish, plus she was moved at the height of summer a couple years ago, and wasn’t happy about that.

Zeffy’s nearly thornless and has large, extremely sweet fragrant blooms — I wish I could post the fragrance–it is similar to Gertrude Jekyll’s wonderful fragrance. Many people love this rose, and until now I had not seen what the deal was. In pictures the bloom form always looked lax. Well, in person it’s very bright and the lax form just makes it charmingly unstuffy, and the fragrance is amazing.

And below is Golden Celebration. It is fragrant (it always surprises me when yellow roses smell like roses.) Pretty soon I should have an amazing “whole bush” photo for you. It is covered with buds.

Have I mentioned how much I love this time of year???

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

