Improvised Thai Green Curry for Dinner

My family teases me that if something is cheap, delicious, and easy to make, it’ll probably never appear on the menu again. Green Curry is fairly cheap, very delicious and very easy to make…and true to form, considering how easy it is to make and how much everyone loves it, we don’t have it nearly often enough.

I keep Green Curry paste and fish sauce on hand. (That is a picture of various brands of fish sauce.) I bought a container of fish sauce and a container of green chili paste at Gloria’s World (international food market) several years ago and still have plenty left.

Fish sauce, be forewarned, smells really bad by itself. However, when you mix it with Thai food ingredients, wonderful things happen.

Green Curry is a throw-together thing in our household. Real Thai cooks would probably say I need kaffir lime leaves, a red chili pepper, and fresh basil leaves (YUM) to pull this dish off right. So if you follow this recipe, remember it makes no claims to authenticity.

  • Make a pot of rice.
  • Slice up some chicken breasts and cook them in a can of coconut milk in a wok.
  • Or saute the sliced chicken breasts in oil in the wok and then add the can of coconut milk.
  • Stir in a teaspoon to a tablespoon of green chili paste, according to your tolerance for hot spicy food.
  • Add in any chopped vegetable you think would be good in it. Today I used chopped green pepper and 3 or 4 chopped scallions.
  • Squeeze in the juice of half to a whole lime. This is where you have to feel your way. I used half a lime tonight. It was a nice juicy one, though.
  • Cook that for a minute or two til the vegetables are tender but not mushy.
  • Stir in a handful of chopped cilantro.
  • Remove from heat.
  • Add a dollop of fish sauce. (A tablespoon?)
  • Sweeten with sugar–maybe a tablespoon, maybe a little more.
  • Serve over rice.

Tonight I garnished it with chopped avocado on the side. Which was an unusual touch but I had an avocado that I could tell was at the fabulous stage, so I had to use it. Turned out to be fabulous in the dish.

It was inhaled by one and all.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Improvised Thai Green Curry for Dinner

  1. kara says:

    Hmm, I think I might have to try that!

  2. TulipGirl says:

    I’ve used variations of your recipe in our home (and it’s the one dish for which I’ll give up my healthy brown rice for yummy jasmine rice!) Like in your home, it is a family favorite. I keep fish sauce, canned coconut milk and green or red chili paste on hand, so it’s a really easy fall back. Sometimes it turns out yummier than others. Regardless, it fits our family’s bill for “hot and plentiful” and my preference for “yummy and inexpensive.”

Leave a Reply

