April 6 — Garden Log

Recent jobs in the garden have included laying 10 more stepping stone and heavily pruning two of the out of control bushes, spreading the rest of the peat moss bale on all the roses and flower beds and the rest on the lawn, especially where I need to reseed.

Next up, I need to spray for lawn weeds. It’s a little like locking the barn after the horse gets out…but I imagine it will still help.

Scott always worries that if I kill the lawn weeds, we’ll have nothing left out there. Clearly I am not a lawn gardener. ;-)

My favorites, the bleeding hearts, are up! I love these old-fashioned perennials. They die back completely in midsummer, but for a good long time they are works of art in the garden, and unlike the roses, they are trouble free. Realizing how much I love them, I planted two more this year, one of which came up. Hmm. They were just those packaged roots you get from a display at a big box store, so I knew I was taking my chances.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

