Frozen Cold Baseball Mom

Brrr.  Of course it wouldn’t be baseball if there weren’t some freezing cold games and some broiling hot, humid games.  I know that.  It was my turn to collect entrance fees at the gate at the baseball tournament yesterday.  I had on three wool sweaters and a jacket, hat, scarf, mittens with a blanket laid across my lap and I was still cold!  My replacement did not show up, so I was sitting there for almost 4 hours before someone came and had pity on me.   As baseball parent jobs go, I don’t mind minding the gate at all…but brrrrr!

In a little bit I have to go out to Mayfield for two games scheduled 4 hours apart…leaving me with something like two and a half hours to kill in Mayfield.  This is one of those weekends when I feel like Bartleby the Scrivener.  I would prefer not to.

D17 might be pitching, though, so I do want to be there for that!   I just wish the game was here in town.  There’s a lot I could get done between games, not least get D17 in for a much-needed haircut before he leaves for Florida on Monday.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frozen Cold Baseball Mom

  1. TulipGirl says:

    When and where and why is your son coming to FL?

  2. katiekind says:

    Monday he and his baseball team are flying down to spend the week of Spring Break in and around the Disney World area. They are playing in some tournaments at the Disney sports complex and have a couple of days off to visit the theme parks as well. It should be a big time.

  3. kara says:

    Hmm… it sounds like you could use some nice warm hand-knitted things!

Leave a Reply

