Remember Flower Power?

Barb’s new “Hippie Birthday” card design has it!

hippiebirthday_main1.jpg

She brought this and a few other new designs over yesterday morning, so you can check em out at http://www.sweetb.etsy.com

Growing up, the family car I most remember was the old red VW bus — it was definitely our hippie status symbol back in the day. It did not have the camper top like the one Barb depicts in her card, but the previous owners had modified the interior to make it camping friendly. I don’t recall that we ever camped out of it, but I do remember long trips in it, with the younger children napping on quilts and me in my favorite spot, up between the front seats, my brother reading in the back. Hmm…I guess we weren’t too concerned about seat belts and such back in those days.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remember Flower Power?

  1. barb kilby says:

    Kathy, I too remember those long road trips with no seat belts! My Dad would drive, bedding was put on the floor so that the whole back seat became a bed.Sleeping with the window down was the only way to survive those non stop long (no ipod,video,books on tape,or bag of snacks, please stop at Stuckey’s) trips! Desperation was the only thing to halted that determined driver. Being a kid from the subur;bs I was horrified one time when whinning to stop the only thing at the gas station was a dirt floored outhouse!

Leave a Reply

