Garden Log March 18

102_3227.jpgIt was my plan, since my big long day in the garden last Sunday, to spend time outdoors every day doing some gardening chore or other. Today Barb was over most of the morning for tea and work — which was accomplished between Bible and theology discussions and flower arranging and story swapping. I set up the scanner that had been languishing out in the garage so that I can get better images of her art and cards.

She brought over some daffodil bulbs for me to plant — an exotic variety she found at the store. So after she went home I went out and planted those and mixed some bone meal into the soil for them. Then I took the rest of the bag of bone meal and went around and scratched some into the soil around the backyard roses until I ran out. So that was my days’ gardening chore–not much, but it was really not pleasant outside–extremely windy and threatening rain at any moment.

Later in the afternoon we had the first baseball game of the season, a scrimmage game. The wind was still blowing to beat the band and the rain was still threatening but held off throughout the game. The game ended when a tornado watch was called. Fortunately, just before that happened, D17 hit a beautiful line drive up the middle which brought in two runs. He stole two bases on and then came home. Yay! What a way to start the season. He is not “starting” on varsity, but he had a lot of authority when he took his turn to bat, and I hope the result was an encouragement to him. And he was so sick. He came home and went almost straight to bed, poor kid.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends, Gardening, growing roses, March Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

