Garden Log March 13

I went to Lowes this morning and came home with new pruners, (lost the old ones–sob!), some bags of compost and a bale of peat moss.

You see–spring does eventually come! I am not a fan of late winter–January through early March–nope. I know they have their purpose in the rhythm of life, but I have not learned the secret of wintering well.

In the afternoon I dug six big holes and filled them halfway up with compost and peat moss. The holes need to be wider than you think–I usually forget that.

I planted three of my six new roses and relocated two backyard roses into the new holes. That leaves one hole for the back-ordered “Daybreaker” rose.

I still have three roses to plant and several roses to relocate. Phew!

The front rose bed had three roses last year: let me recall their beauty. Marilyn Monroe is a creamy apricot rose that lasts nearly two weeks in a vase. She has very fine blooms that swirl from a creamy yellow to palest green tinging the edges of the outermost petals. Exhibition form and not much fragrance.

brigadoon_may15.jpgBrigadoon produces big cheerful coral/cream blend blooms which are not fragrant but quite lovely, and the bush is full and leafy and nice, too. Brigadoon is not one of those “bloom on a stick” roses.

valencia07.jpgValencia’s blooms are large golden yellow affairs with sturdy petals. The blooms last almost as well as Marilyn’s and have a good fragrance too.

These three were wonderful roses last year. Joining them: Granada (pink/yellow blend); Veteran’s Honor (red); St. Patrick (yellow); Chicago Peace (pink/yellow blend); Tamara (apricot Austin); and Daybreaker (apricot/pink/yellow floribunda).

When all is said and done, the front bed that I started developing last year will have 9 roses, Lord willin’ and the creek don’t rise. Literally: because the edge of the bed is on the shores of what we refer to as “Lake Doran” — an area of the yard where we have standing water when it rains heavily. Because of that problem I have crowded the roses in a bit, trying to stick to the drier area.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Gardening, growing roses, March Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

