Babette’s Feast

This is one of my very favorite movies. I had the joy of watching this with D17 not long ago when he was on the couch feeling sick…he didn’t have the strength to resist my entreaties to watch with me this slow-moving, foreign language-with-English subtitles film. I think he enjoyed it. What I loved most this time around was the subtlety of the performances. I loved watching the faces.

And this time around I had a good time thinking about the way the film-makers used the worldly-wise General who sat at table with the little community of faith and identified the vintage of the wines and the provenance of the entree–information which went over the heads of his table-mates–and this yokel (the carriage driver) who sat in a corner of the glowing kitchen and enjoyed heartily whatever Babette gave him. They served as foils to help us vicariously enjoy the feast while we watched how the meal affected the pious villagers who had vowed not to enjoy it.

It’s such a wonderful film. You all should rent it and watch it and tell me if you loved it.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Babette’s Feast

  1. meserod says:

    I also love old movies, but i have never seen this one. I will have to check it out. :)

  2. darlene says:

    I really did enjoy that film. The only complaint I had was that Babette never got a proper thank you due to the villagers’ ignorant resistance. And even though they enjoyed the meal in spite of themselves, they didn’t let on to her. Too bad.

  3. TulipGirl says:

    I put it on my Blockbuster list because of you mentioning it before. I’ve just moved it to the top of the line. . . *grin*

  4. sethile says:

    This is a great film! I missed it this time, but will never forget the powerful picture it paints. Beautifully crafted and simply set.

    I think the missing thank you is part of the powerful picture, and is meant to leave us unsettled. How often have I missed the lavish experiences bestowed on me, unaware of the greatness that surrounds me? Often I too need a General to help me see that amazing beauty I’m in danger of ignoring, under appreciating, or have somehow set my heart against.

    Will you join me in a toast? Here’s to Babette, and too all those that lavish their art upon a starving World, and to the Author and inspiration of it all. May we all grow to appreciate and accept our many blessings and each other.

  5. kristen says:

    I love that film. :) It’s just fantastic!

  6. darlene says:

    You’re right, sethile. After I thought about it, I remembered reading on the insert to the DVD that is movie was a “fable”. Fables don’t often have “happy endings”. They are morality or teaching stories. Thank you for eloquent explanation of the symbolism in the movie.

Leave a Reply

