Christmas Cooking

I came into my own as a Christmas cook this year. It only took me 30 years of making turkey dinners once or twice a year to find the conquering chef within, but here she is. The rolls were not burned. Everything was ready at the same time. There were no flops and a marked triumph in the creamed spinach cassarole, which had peoples’ eyeballs rolling back in their heads in ecstasy. And it was a new recipe. Everything else was tried and true.

I can’t wait to do it again.

Edited to add: Darlene requested the spinach cassarole recipe, and I’m glad she did because I want to be able to locate it again. Here is where I originally found it.

This is my holiday choice of a great veggie side dish. You can prepare it the night before and refrigerate, then cook the day of your party. If you do this, take out of refrig. 1/2hr. before baking.

Spinach Gratin – Ina Garten

4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
4 cups chopped yellow onions (2 large)
1/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1 cup heavy cream
2 cups milk
3 pounds frozen chopped spinach, defrosted (5 (10-ounce) packages)
1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup grated Gruyere cheese

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
Melt the butter in a heavy-bottomed saute pan over medium heat. Add the onions and saute until translucent, about 15 minutes. Add the flour and nutmeg and cook, stirring, for 2 more minutes. Add the cream and milk and cook until thickened. Squeeze as much liquid as possible from the spinach and add the spinach to the sauce. Add 1/2 cup of the Parmesan cheese and mix well. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper.

Transfer the spinach to a baking dish and sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup Parmesan and the Gruyere on top. Bake for 20 minutes until hot and bubbly. Serve hot.

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Inactive Prep Time: 45 minutes
Cook Time: 40 minutes
Yield: 8 servings

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Cooking

  1. sethile says:

    Oh yes! This was the perfect Christmas celebration feast. 30 years is not too long to wait for such amazing fare, so lovingly and beautifully prepared. It was a wonderful evening. BRAVO! I think Father Capon would be most proud, and I know I was!

  2. darlene says:

    Could you post the creamed spinich recipe?

Leave a Reply

