On Feeding the Christian Imagination

Sorry for the pomposity of that title. I am sick today; Ds17 is at work, Scott is struggling with a terrible toothache; the new kitty is recuperating from her little operation.

I have a pot of delicious turkey soup on the stove however; that is one good thing. I have a lovely new afghan to snuggle under, courtesy of Scott’s mom; that is another good thing. And I have my laptop with its wifi connection to the net. So I am curled up on the couch feeling at once miserable and thankful for those comforts.

Surfing the net in this condition, I mustered up the braincells to read a thoughtful (and long) essay by a young theologian named Alastair on the importance of imagination to people in general and to Christians in particular. He is addressing himself mainly to the reformed part of the room, but I think his insights are applicable more widely and might spark more good thinking.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

