In Which I Get Some Baking Done

In keeping with the holiday theme, I thought I’d report that I did a little baking of cookies this morning. Thanks to the wonderful cook/writer/mom at Forest Street Kitchen for pointing me to a source for good, mailable cookie recipes.

Last night Youngest’s girlfriend joined us for supper and then we put them to work putting up the tree. We could not have done it without them. They did everything from dragging it in, cutting it out of the netting, situating it in the stand, testing light strands and unraveling them and then artistically arranging them–which is a tough job. After that they took a break and I did the fun part–putting on the ornaments. I made a yummy dessert for them but they only liked the ice cream part of it. Scott and I could have eaten it til we exploded. It was Nigella Lawson’s Easy Sticky Toffee Dessert–the tip for which I also owe to ImagineAnnie at Forest Street Kitchen.

So now I’ve had all the food indulgence I can handle until Christmas. Remind me of that in the coming days, will you?

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

