A Visit from St. Nicholas

The vicar convened a special Sunday school class this morning when it turned out he was able to get St. Nicholas as a guest speaker. He felt that both children and adults would want to have the opportunity to hear about his life and times and what he’s remembered for.

St. Nicholas arrived in full bishop regalia and everyone was enthralled. Even at his advanced age he interacted well with the children and somehow seemed to know their names. (“Are you Alex? You are? I thought so!”) At the close of the talk he had bags of gold coins for the children (those gold foil-wrapped chocolate coins.)

I don’t know if all the children understood that St. Nicholas was the basis for Santa Claus, but they definitely enjoyed the stories about Nicholas anonymously throwing bags of gold up through a poor man’s window (“wow, you had good aim!” “Yes, I did, didn’t I?”) to supply his daughters’ dowries and the like, and they seemed to like the point that Nicholas’s generosity had been inspired when he took to heart the gospel story about Jesus and the rich man.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Visit from St. Nicholas

  1. kara says:

    Hey, what a wonderful, thoughtful event for your church to plan! Even if the kids didn’t all get it, one of these days they’re realize that another name for Santa is “St. Nick” and they’ll put two and two together. I would have liked to meet St. Nicholas :)

Leave a Reply

