Nursing a Sore Throat

Not feeling well today, and Scott’s out of town at a pipe show in Kansas City, so I stayed home from church. If I had gone, I’d have gotten there an hour early, since I completely forgot about it being “fall back” day–even though I went over and helped my little old neighbor lady change her kitchen clock back yesterday. Dan reminded me at 1:30 pm that it was really 12:30 pm. Then he carefully assembled a ninja costume and went off to do something with the church youth group.

A friend challenged me to play the Free Rice vocabulary game and to see if I could beat her score of 45. I have a pretty decent vocabulary, but it wasn’t too long before I was guessing my way through. I had to “earn” many grains of rice to get to that score. For each right answer ten grains of rice are donated to a United Nations food program. (Or so it says.)

Also, I found a wonderful lecture series on the History of Christianity. The lecturer is one Dr. Maxie Burch and he’s interesting and personable. Go to Itunes and search on History of Christianity, and hopefully you’ll come up with it. If I find a real link, I’ll provide it. I’m still on the first lecture, Early Christian History.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nursing a Sore Throat

  1. kara says:

    Sore thoats are miserable. Hope you feel better soon! I’m enjoying the Free Rice game :)

  2. TulipGirl says:

    Is your sore throat feeling any better?

    Itunes is still hard for me to navigate, but the Church History lectures sound interesting. (Probably because I just finished listening to the Covenant Worldwide ones on the Ancient Church Through the Middle Ages.)

  3. katiekind says:

    All better now, thanks!

Leave a Reply

