Chicken and Basil Fried Rice

Coming home from driving D17 around to possible places of employment (he pulled a muscle in his neck, so he couldn’t drive) I began to ponder what to make for dinner tonight. I had on hand chicken breast tenderloins that I needed to use and I have tons of basil from my garden. The basil plants are going to go to seed one of these days and I’ll be sad if I haven’t used them to the fullest possible extent before that happens.

So I googled those ingredients for ideas on dinner dishes that use both ingredients and came up with something wonderful and quite easy. Best of all, there’s a video to show you how to put it together.

I made some substitutions. For oyster sauce, I substituted soy sauce. For the chilis, I substituted green chili paste. I used brown rice instead of jasmine rice. I didn’t have red bell pepper, so I chopped up celery and used it instead.

Olive Oil
Garlic (6 cloves)
Red Chili Pepper (I used green curry paste – 1 tsp or so)
Oyster Sauce (I used soy sauce)
Fish Sauce
Sugar
Rice
Chicken
Red Bell Pepper (I used celery)
Basil (1 cup fresh leaves!)

Garnish:
Lime
Cucumber
Cilantro

I heated 1/4 cup olive oil in my wok and sauteed quickly into that 6 garlic cloves which had been put through a press, and about a teaspoon of green curry paste.

Then I added a pound of cut up chicken breast tenderloins and sauteed those. Then I added a couple teaspoons of soy sauce, a few tablespoons of fish sauce (a generous dollop), a teaspoon of sugar. I stirred in 3 or 4 cups of cooked brown rice. When that was all hot and incorporated, I added in a couple stalks of sliced celery. At the end I added about a cup of fresh basil leaves, left whole. Stirred it all up, nice and hot, and served with quarters of lime on the side. The video shows the cooks garnishing the dish with cilantro and cucumber slices. I didn’t have those ingredients.

D17, who is a very finicky eater, unaccountably happens to love Thai food, and so I was a hero chef tonight.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

