Grateful for my Husband

This week I am especially grateful for my husband. We attended the funeral for someone’s husband this morning. The wife he left behind is my age or a little older. He died in a freak accident last weekend. A very difficult loss indeed.  It was a beautiful Episcopal funeral but I can’t begin to imagine the loneliness and sorrow and shock that lies ahead for her.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grateful for my Husband

  1. Mom2threepks says:

    I’m so sorry for your friend’s loss. My best friend lost her husband about 18 months ago. It has been a hard road for her. And it definitely makes me appreciate my husband more, especially in the small things. Two books that were especially helpful to my friend were Good Grief by Granger Westburg and Tear Soup by Pat Schweibert, Chuck DeKlyen, Taylor Bills. Having walked this path with my friend i’ve seen a lot of books come to her from well meaning folks, most of which weren’t helpful. These two i would be comfortable sending even to a stranger because they were so comforting especially in the early days after her husband’s death. I’ll be praying for her.

Leave a Reply

