Squirrel Baby

D17 found a baby squirrel in the yard….he seemed to have been there for awhile and didn’t have any prospects for survival that way, so he and his dad brought him in and we fixed a cardboard box up for him, set it on top of a heating pad to keep him warm and squirted some gatorade down his little throat with an oral syringe.  This morning I contacted the vet and the humane society, hoping to find a wildlife rehabilitator.  The best they could do was give me the phone number for the fish and wildlife department in another part of the state.  I called the number and they said the best thing to do is put the little thing back where he was found.

Well, I don’t think he would survive that, so I researched on the internet and found a recipe for a formula to feed him.  I’ve squirted a little down his throat a couple of times today.  He doesn’t seem to be that happy about it.  I hope I’m not just prolonging the agony but it’s hard to do nothing, especially when D17 is so concerned about him.  He is fully furred and his eyes are open.  I don’t think he can eat on his own though.  At least, so far he has not.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Squirrel Baby

  1. Rebecca says:

    What a cute squirrel! When my older brother and I were little, we rescued some baby squirrels from a boy who had robbed them from their nest. Two of them, unfortunately, died rather quickly despite our best efforts at following the local vet’s advice about feeding and taking care of them. The other one lived longer, but still died quite young. Your little one looks significantly older than ours were at first.

    A girl who rescued the rest of the squirrels had one of hers make it well into adulthood. Surprisingly, he made a wonderful pet and she thought he was going to live a long and happy squirrel life with her until he lost a fight with a dog…

Leave a Reply

