Odds and Ends

I’ve not been feeling well–just a cold, but it’s the kind that saps your basic will to live, so I’ve been laying around watching episodes of The Office–wishing I had something to do with my hands like knit. You all should see what my sister kayray knits. She is an amazing craftsman/artist.

For the past few days, when D17 gets home from school, I’ve been reading out loud to him from his literature assignment while he winds down from the school day. (Homeschooling LIVES!!) We’ve both been enjoying that. The assignment is A Separate Peace, which I actually got through high school without having to read, although I saw other kids carrying it around.

And last night we went to an open forum at the church we’ve been attending, to hear the new vicar tell a little about his background and his plans and hopes for the church. Afterwards those interested were invited to go into the church proper and read compline with the vicar. He explained it is a bedtime prayer service whose history goes back to the 3rd or 4th century. The lights were low and the altar candles were lit, and I guess there were about a dozen of us. It was so beautiful and moving and flowed toward this beautiful prayer:

Keep watch, dear Lord, with those who work, or watch, or weep this night, and give your angels charge over those who sleep. Tend the sick, Lord Christ; give rest to the weary, bless the dying, soothe the suffering, pity the afflicted, shield the joyous; and all for your love’s sake.

And this:

Guide us waking, O Lord, and guard us sleeping; that awake we may watch with Christ, and asleep we may rest in peace.

It was very soothing to read through the words reminding us all of Who’s in charge, truly.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Odds and Ends

  1. imagineannie says:

    The prayer was lovely; thanks! I hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

