Finished the Book

Ahhhh….it was GOOD. We enjoyed it very much. You can talk about it now, Kayray.

D17, who did the big marathon read as soon as we got it, kept telling me, “you’re going to cry, Mom.” And then as our reading progressed (slower, because I was reading it aloud to Scott in the evenings) he kept checking in with me, “so have you cried yet, Mom, have you cried?”

Well, I thought he was foreshadowing sad death scenes and was steeling myself for the worst. I did cry a bit, but not over any deaths…but over the touching parent/child moments in the book.

I enjoyed this review from Christianity Today: The Gospel According to JK Rowling.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finished the Book

  1. Anonymous says:

    You can go to Hannah’s site and see the pictures. I haven’t posted because we haven’t sent a letter to our families yet and H was taking a big enough chance just posting their pictures. Corrie finally announced about the baby, so we can talk about it now! yeah!!

  2. wild_cow says:

    I just finished reading it also. I believe I liked it the most of the series. And, yes, I cried as well. I think the tragedy of Snape’s character was one of the saddest portions of the entire series.

  3. kara says:

    Yup, it was the parent/child moments that got me the most, too, though I cried at some of the deaths, too. (Fred! Noooooooooooooooooo!) And, boy, there were some thrilling scenes, weren’t there? Wow, what a book.

  4. katiekind says:

    Yeah, wild_cow, I agree. I don’t know if it affected you as it did me, but when we hear the name of Harry’s second son…. gulp, blink, wipe tears.

    Yeah, kara, so many thrilling scenes.

Leave a Reply

