Long Week of Learning

I spent this week learning about Joomla which is an open source content management system that might come in handy for website design projects, particularly if they involve database type actions like logging in to a “back stage area” to work on staff projects, running a mailing list, displaying tour date listings that can retire themselves when the date passes, offering a shopping cart–that sort of thing.  I’d like to get a new client or two in the near future, so my thoughts have turned to brushing up some new skills.  It’s amazing how much time it takes to learn and experiment.  But it’s been a fun week, I do enjoy the learning.

We have had a couple of baseball double-headers this week, and 4 more double-headers scheduled for next week.  These games are with the high school summer league, and it’s more relaxed, and there are fewer kids involved, which means D16 is getting more playing time.  He had his best pitching outing ever on Monday, and then a very encouraging game Thursday where he played second base.  He’s starting to realize the difference between high school ball and the rec league teams he has played on before and has made up his mind to work harder and close the gap he has realized exists between his level of play and that of the kids who have more experience in competitive leagues than he has.  I’m proud to see how he has taken up the challenge.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

