update from the visit

We had a great day yesterday. We did go up to Paducah to that festival. The funnest thing was poking around in the art galleries. They did have artists’ booths on the street, but it was really more fun to go in the galleries and see how the owners had restored their old houses in the redevelopment district. Barbra, Michael and I took the trolley over to the Quilt Museum for awhile. D16 and Scott stayed and listened to the music. We came back and strolled for awhile longer and then came home. We came to the joint decision that we’d much rather barbecue at home than eat in a restaurant so we drove home and Scott went back out for provisions. Every evening and every morning we have had lovely times out on the back patio. It hasn’t been very hot and the mosquitos aren’t here yet.

Today we went to church and then had lunch at the Mexican place in Hazel and then strolled the antique shops. Very fun. Barbra and Michael are most generous and you have to be careful not to admire anything too much or they’ll sneak back and buy it for you! In spite of trying not to, I ended up the shopping trip with a set of “moon and stars” canisters, a butter dish, 6 crystal wine glasses, and a pretty vase.

Church was wonderful–it is Pentecost and we all wore something red to symbolize the “flames” which in turn symbolize the Holy Spirit. Pentecost looks back to and celebrates the initiation of the Christian church qua Christian church. The red color was repeated in banners, altar cloth and vestments on the celebrant, and we were also told to wear something red to church.  (I would think this would be a fun way to share the day with children and include them, building up an awareness in them of a major event in the life of the church and its meaning.)

It was very moving to me to share communion with Scott’s mom and step-dad . The emotion of the moment ambushed me. I was weeping when I sat back down. I have not had an easy time relating with them over the past year or two and somehow I think that is all in the past now.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to update from the visit

  1. TulipGirl says:

    Oh, how wonderful!

Leave a Reply

