Perfect Weekend

You’d think we had imported some perfect Southern California weather specially for this weekend–the first weekend of summer vacation.  It feels wonderful:  friendly and familiar, full of optimism and possibilities.

Friday after school, Dan put away his backpack and threw away a wornout notebook and flopped on the couch for awhile.  Pretty soon he decided what he would do: take the car and go cash his paycheck.  From there, he went to see the college baseball game.  He came home for a bit and his friend Jason called and invited him to come down the rec league fields and watch Jason’s team (he’s helping to coach it) play ball.  Then he watched his other friends’ team–his rec league team from last year, and then he and Jason and two other kids went out to dinner and to play pool.  I think somewhere in there he dropped in at a local restaurant to inquire about a job.    It was a promising start to summer vacation.

He had more adventures lined up for today.  His girlfriend’s mother offered to accompany them to a Christian music festival in Nashville.   Great weather for that, too, although I much prefer where I am, sitting in my backyard under the maple tree, warm but not hot, and when the breeze blows, it’s just nice puffs of warm air moving on my skin.  J23’s talking to Scott on the phone. Tonight we’ll barbecue something and eat out on the new patio table that D16 and I assembled yesterday.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

