Garden Notebook: May 1

The recent warm weather has spurred lots of new growth on the roses, crape myrtle and even the poor hydrangeas have some new growth down near the ground.  Several of the roses have some new buds–not like before, but now I will be grateful for anything!  The larger of the rhododendrons is in bloom, looking very pretty out the kitchen window.  The salvias are blooming and lovely.  They were planted next to roses to provide a pretty purply contrast to the rose blooms…but they do look pretty just against green, as well and are very easy-care.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

