Frozen rosen

Garden-blogging came to a screeching halt due to the gardener’s freefall into the depths of depression over a hard, long freeze we had for a week around Easter. I ran around and covered most of the roses with all the sheets in the house that family members weren’t actually sleeping on, but still there has been a great deal of damage. It’s been too cold and windy since then to even have much interest in going out and assessing the situation. The hydrangeas are especially pitiful looking. It’s all very pitiful.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Gardening, growing roses. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frozen rosen

  1. TulipGirl says:

    Oh, no! That makes me so sad. Since I have a black thumb, I garden vicariously through you. . .

  2. alice reinhardt says:

    I ventured out today. I did find some hope beneath the blackened leaves so I feel a little better. It felt good to sit out in the sunshine and try to nurse some life back into them.

  3. kara says:

    Oh, poor roses, poor Kathy!

Leave a Reply

