I want to remember this

Last night, we sat out on the back porch and watched D16 hit wiffle balls off his new tee. The evening was perfect and lovely, balmy. After awhile D16 went inside, and we sat on, talking. We heard a goose honking. I said, “I heard geese this morning when I woke up.” Scott said he had heard them too. We kept hearing a goose. “He sounds lost,” we said. Soon we heard more geese. I stood up to see past the roof, and saw an amazing sight, a huge V of geese, noisily honking and flying swiftly southward. It was special, beautiful.

We sat out there longer, talking some more. After awhile we noticed the moon was up. It was catching light from the sun, it was so incredibly bright and sharp-focused that it looked very close–“moon” wasn’t my first thought. Instead the first thought that formed in my mind was, “large shining thing that might fall right in my yard!”

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I want to remember this

  1. alice reinhardt says:

    aren’t these moments great? I’ve had a couple of these with Abby lately and they are so healing.

    been planting flowers….I went a little crazy when we got back from cincy….mark even bought me a small portable greenhouse.

  2. katiekind says:

    Wow! That’s really sweet!

  3. TulipGirl says:

    What beautiful images to save in your memory. . .

Leave a Reply

