The Un-frantic Life

From Dick Staub’s little piece on C. S. Lewis and the Un-frantic Life:

[an expert on C. S. Lewis] said: Lewis style of spirituality was a rhythm of worship, work, reading, and leisure. This is an unfrantic response to God who is, as Lewis insisted, always a courteous Lord. Life-style is revealed by the use of time: what is given place and space; what is included and what, therefore, is excluded. What we see in Lewis is the steady place of his parish church; the quiet regularity of his Bible-reading and prayers; the natural large place for his main work of study and writing; the large blocks of time for leisurely conversations with special friends; and the importance of letter writing, especially with those who sought his help in the matter of Christian pilgrimage. For all of his immense output of literary work, his life is marked by a spacious, un-frantic rhythm of worship, work, conversation, availability, and intimacy.

I will never be C. S. Lewis. But as an example of a Christian person, he’s one whose example resonates for me in an encouraging way instead of making me feel terrible that I don’t even like the starting point, much less the agenda and ambition.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Un-frantic Life

  1. TulipGirl says:

    Very much what I needed to read today. . .

Leave a Reply

