Celebrating the start of baseball season

I hope this is not blasphemous, but I made challah yesterday. I explained to D16 that it is a bread traditionally served for the Jewish sabbath meal and at other celebratory occasions. He said, so is that blasphemous for a non-Jew to make it for a non-Jewish occasion? All I can say is that I hope not. And in case we needed something to celebrate in order to have it, we had the start of his baseball season last night. The varsity team played really well. And unfortunately, the JV team that D16 is on just didn’t play as well. And D16, in particular, had a bad night. I’ve seldom seen him so down. But I remember other first games of the season that went that way, and I think it’ll go better after this. Here he is before the game:

Here is one of the challah loaves I made. It is delicious and beautiful.

I used this video to help me make the six-stranded braid. I also used the recipe from her site, but I used half whole wheat flour/half white flour.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celebrating the start of baseball season

  1. Scott Thile says:

    The challah was fantastic-a wonderfully yummy treat! Highly recommended!

    In terms of the tough ballgame, we have plans to get some extra practicing in with some real live experts who have graciously offered to help. What a blessing! We also have the boy’s well meaning father on board, who at least had the sense to check with the boy’s grandfather (another expert ;) before doing anything stupid. If the weather cooperates we’ll get some extra fielding and hitting practice in before Saturday’s games, and then maybe a little expert help Sunday afternoon.

    Parenting is such an amazing adventure!

  2. alice reinhardt says:

    I’d love to have the challah recipe

  3. TulipGirl says:

    Your son is handsome. I hope it doesn’t embarrass him that I posted that.

    My mom used to make challah every Friday afternoon, in a wonderful, rhythmic, traditional sort of way.

Leave a Reply

