Garden Notebook: March 23

Scott did a herculean job in the yard yesterday. He raked out beds. He cut down 2 (two) trees, with D16 providing assistance with ropes to make sure the tree sections fell the right direction, then stacked the wood and hauled the smaller brush to the road, again with D16 providing assistance. He cleared out the side yard, he mowed everything. The yard looks fantastic. In the late afternoon we sat out in back in the beautiful yard and watched D16 practice his throwing. I watered and fertilized the roses. Lowe’s didn’t have the Rosetone organic fertilizer that is my normal choice for fertilizing, and I ended up getting an inorganic 10-10-10 fertilizer. I hope I applied it correctly. With Rosetone you just dump the amount it says to dump around each rose.

Today I started up a batch of alfalfa tea. I emailed S&W Greenhouse because the Marilyn Monroe bareroot is just sitting there…nothing happening. Valencia has sprouted out leaves and Brigadoon’s bud eyes are swelling so something is about to happen. But Marilyn’s sulking–I hope that’s all it is.

UPDATE: Jeff from S & W Greenhouse called me to tell me that if Marilyn is being stubborn (as he put it), cut about an inch to an inch and a half from the end of each cane and that will encourage her to break dormancy. Yay S & W! They are great. I went out and did it.

Something’s missing from the garden this year: aphids! Woo-hooo! I can certainly do without them. I wonder what the difference is between this year and all the other years I’ve grown roses.

I bought a little thyme to plant in my patio herb pot, but couldn’t find basil. The rosemary from last year might still come back to life…and it looks like the 0regano is going to come up again. I decided I might as well try to grow basil from seeds. So I bought a all the necessaries, and also bought lavendar and marigold seeds. What would be cool is, if the basil takes off, I could give my friends their own basil plants. It’s so fun to cook with fresh herbs. And then on impulse I bought lily of the valley pips and 4 astilbe bulb thingies. Planted one in the circle shade bed and the rest back by the azaleas.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

