Time for a new ride

Scott decided he had had about all the car stress he could handle when the van broke down without warning and he realized how stranded we could have been–and it’s a gas-guzzling eye-sore, without heat or air conditioning, to boot. It’s 20 years old now. We got it about ten years ago, when it was in perfect condition, a very generous gift from Scott’s mother and stepdad. But the second decade does take a toll on a vehicle, and although it’s been amazingly dependable, it seemed the time had come to put it out to pasture.

So, being a man of action, Scott bought a car off a used-car lot. It met all the criteria but we have discovered it has a bit of an oddity about the odometer. The odometer was at 109,xxx miles and should have flipped to 110,000 on its maiden voyage to Scott’s gig in Milan, but instead, it now reads 100,xxx. The 0 in the 10,000s place did not flip up to a 1. It’s a little bit suspicious. And the drummer who followed Scott to the gig in his own car said the new car is smoking a bit. And that’s a bit suspicious. We’ll be hoping for the best. He got a good price on it and it’s not an eyesore, as J23 was quick to point out.

Unlike the van, it won’t block the view of my new rosebed from the front porch–that is a plus.

J23 pointed this out to me during a phone call at the ball field in Hickman, KY, where the baseball team was having a scrimmage game. We were so cold. There was a very bitter wind, the sky was a matte gray. Some of us were saying it felt like it could snow. And then, sure enough, it did.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time for a new ride

  1. Scott Thile says:

    Update: I thought I was ready to trade in my van headaches for some new ones, along with hopefully some heat in the winters, and A/C in the summers and improved gas mileage. Turns out I’ve made a really terrible mistake. I have pretty well determined that the odometer was rolled back on this car. I’m extremely depressed about it. My feelings remind me of when our house was robbed once many years ago in CA, only this is worse because I really could have avoided this had I not been in such a hurry.

    My only hope right now is that the owner of the lot is reputable enough to take this car back and refund my money (paid in cash like an idiot), in spite of the “As Is” deal I signed. Turns out somewhere between 2.5 and 4.5% of used vehicles have been rolled back at some point. I doubt this guy who owns the lot did it, but it’s possible. Regardless, he should have known, being in the biz, especially in this town with its history of used cars shysters.

    Bottom line: Sin sucks, especially when your a sucker!
    New life quote: “A fool and his money are soon parted.”–Thomas Tusser–

  2. TulipGirl says:

    Oh, no! How very disappointing and frustrating.

  3. katiekind says:

    Monday morning, Scott took the car back to the used car dealer and demanded his money back. After some hedging and haggling, the used car dealer did indeed give Scott his money back. Scott noticed it is back on the lot, up for sale again.

Leave a Reply

