When Plans Change…

Yesterday the plan was that Scott and I would go to Nashville in the evening for a house concert featuring {name redacted} preparing for their debut at Carnegie Hall. D16 couldn’t go because of his baseball practice and work schedule. So the plan was to leave him the car, and we would take the van to Nashville. The van is an old full-sized Chevy van that is trickier to drive because of visibility, and the steering feels funny in comparison to a modern car, and so on. So we just feel better having Son take the car, even if he’s only driving a few miles by comparison to our trip to Nashville.

When we dropped off the car, D16 came out of baseball practice carrying his new uniforms, but sad because he had just learned that he had been placed on the junior varsity team rather than the varsity team. He’s a 9th grader, so this might be expected, but he is a good player, so he hoped to make the varsity team, and we could see he was feeling very disappointed. He took the car and headed home and we drove off.

We had gone only a few blocks when Scott decided he should stay home from the concert in order to have more time to debrief with D16 and cheer him up with dinner out and some father/son time. So back home we went, and now I took the car, since Scott could take D16 to work in the van, and I headed to Nashville. Running quite late by this time and I hit terrible traffic, too, and arrived with the concert already in progress. They had saved me a seat and I had not missed the main piece of the evening.

When I came out after the wonderful, amazing, remarkable concert, I had two missed phone calls from Scott. It seems that the van had developed engine trouble of a serious nature while he drove D16 to work, and though he had managed to limp home in it, he did not think he would be able to pick D16 up from work after all. So I drove home from Nashville and then up to the town where D16 works, picked him up, and then drove back home. But we got in around 12:30 am.

Now, can you imagine what would have happened if we had implemented the original plan and taken the van to Nashville?

As it is, Scott and D16 had a wonderful time going out to dinner and then over to the bowling alley to shoot some pool, and D16 declared, “I should fail to make varsity more often!”

I had a marvelous time at the concert, loved the music, and hugged and visited with the leader of the band, wished him well on the debut and that was a pleasure.

The van, although broken, is in our driveway, not on the side of the road in Tennessee–and had that happened, neither of us parents would have been present at that concert. Thank you, Lord, for traveling mercies.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

