We’re reading

I’m reading The Name of the Rose out loud to Scott in the evening while he works in the workshop. My voice, as always, is shot, but it’s too enjoyable not to share books this way. It’s a murder mystery set in the 14th century in an Italian abbey. One of the undercurrents shows the push and pull between medieval thought and the dawning of enlightenment thought. It’s saturated with history (horrifying) and philosophy and the theological issues of the day–just fascinating. Also what a mess. It is seen through the eyes of a devout novice. I hope his faith isn’t destroyed by the end.

snowdot_blue.gif

First snow of winter tonight!  I wonder if school will be called off tomorrow?!

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re reading

  1. Scott Thile says:

    This is a great book, and I’ve really enjoyed you reading it aloud while I sand and file away in the shop.

Leave a Reply

