Sugar Hill Records: A Retrospective

Yesterday the maillady brought a treasure: Barry Poss, founder of Sugar Hill Records, sent us the 4 CD (plus DVD) collection he recently produced: Sugar Hill Records: A Retrospective

First of all, I have such fond memories of working with Barry–he was always warm, accessible and supportive. And if he said he’d do something, he did it. It was always as simple as that.

Second, many of the tracks included in the collection electrified our family in the 80’s when we discovered bluegrass-influenced music. In those days before internet shopping it was very hard to find recordings of this music, and we often taped the Friday evening radio program that reached up to our mountain home when the weather was right, and listened to the tapes on long car rides. We found a small guitar store in San Diego that stocked a few records, and a folk instrument/record store/venue in LA where the recordings could be bought, and plugged into the festival scene where you could buy albums directly from the musicians. How we had the money, I don’t know, but we amassed quite a collection. Much of it was pressed by Sugar Hill Records.

Tracks that especially bring back memories?

Moonshiner by Peter Rowan

Church Street Blues by Tony Rice

Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning by Hot Rize

Forked Deer by Berline, Crary & Hickman

Father, I Stretch Out My Hand To Thee by the Nashville Bluegrass Band

Bury Me Beneath the Willow by Skaggs and Rice

On the Sea of Life by Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Freeborn Man by The Almost Original New South

Senor by Tim O’brien

Rock Bottom Blues by The Nashville Bluegrass Band

Unwed Fathers by Tim and Mollie O’brien

That’s just selections from the first two discs that I’ve had time to listen to (out of 4). Many selections are new to my ears as well, and I’m enjoying those as well.

This has been fun!

Complete Track List

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Useful as well as Ornamental. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

