Homemade Christmas

God bless my elementary school teachers for making Christmas crafts such a sign of the season, and for driving home the message that Moms and Dads will always love to get homemade gifts.

I am one of the least crafty people that I know, but somehow I can’t get through Christmas without making things. Now that my hands are working again, I like to do cross-stitching. It’s weirdly relaxing and annoying at the same time. So I cross-stitched an angel that looks a little like a viking; and went to Peddler’s Mall Sunday afternoon and found a great frame for her for only $4.00 and now she’s hanging in the living room and now I am working on something else–too hard to describe.

Meanwhile over the past few days I have spent hours upon hours putting together a calendar for Mom using Lulu.com. I had read that it was easy. It might be, for some people. But I had quite a bit of difficulty working through the process and then making edits and their site seemed really, really slow. However, for under $14.00 (including shipping) I will receive a calendar made from photos I took this summer during Mom’s big birthday bash week in Wyoming. I’m a little concerned that the photos are not high enough quality to look well in print, but regardless of that, they will surely look well enough to evoke the memories of the great time we all had. I hope Mom will like it.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homemade Christmas

  1. alice says:

    I love Christmas crafts/gifts. I spent the day gathering supplies for the church-time kids to put together a craft or gift each sunday in December. Printed off the gingersnap pumpkin pie recipe…it looks great. I think I’ll make it for Christmas. We so loved having you guys here for Thanksgiving. Good friends make the food so much better!!

  2. Brian says:

    Hi Katie,

    Glad to have run across your new blog. Look forward to keeping up with you here.

  3. katiekind says:

    Last night I made the gingersnap crusted pumpkin pie recipe again, Alice. The first time I made it I accidently left out the evaporated milk. This time I put in half the amount called for by the recipe…I think it may be better without any–I think that’s part of why people were raving about it.

    Hi Brian! Glad to see you!

  4. kara says:

    I’m so glad your hands are better! I remember making Christmas crafts with you when I was little, Kathy — those melted bead snowflakes, and stuffed felt things with pinked edges and sequins sewn on. We still have so many ornaments you’ve made for us over the years :)

    Do you remember that large crewel embroidery kit you had of a cottage in a snowy scene? You let me help work it, and I loved it. I check the craft stores now and then for similar crewel kits and never find any — it’s all cross stitch and needlepoint, which I find less fun.

    Anyway, Henry and I do Christmas crafts every year, too! This year, we’re planning simple stuffed felt Christmas trees with glass beads sewn on :)

  5. katiekind says:

    Awwwww, that’s sweet of you to remember!!! Yes I do remember that crewel embroidery kit. It was huge! It got put away in a closet in Idyllwild while waiting for us to have the money to frame it, and the roof leaked over that closet, and ruined it. I was so sad, because it was quite a work and was very pretty, too.

    We have your ornaments on our tree, too, Kara. You take the concept to a whole other level though–your “Christmas crafts” are tiny art pieces. {{{hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

