Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving dinner was undeniably delicious–my best ever, easily. I lived by the maxim of good cooks everywhere: don’t be afraid of a little butter, a little sugar or a little salt. It all turned out well, except that I did burn the rolls to a crisp, so, no rolls. But as cooking disasters go, that was mild, and self-contained. And they were not missed. There was plenty of food. J23’s fresh nutmeg was put to good use in the pumpkin pie with gingersnap crust and on the sauteed green beans.

And it was a wonderful visit from j23, he was here for 8 days–long enough to really get used to having him around. And then it was a jolt last night when I walked past the room that had so recently been full of his belongs. Empty again. *Sigh* This was a turning point visit; I remember one like that with C25, too. Individuation had come to a wonderful and steady place, he was at peace with himself and with us, with nothing to prove, just a happy time to be had.

Thanksgiving included a whirlwind visit from C25, who spent part of the time here writing music, but still had plenty of energy left to go to the baseball field with D16 and talk into the night with me and so on. It was great to see him. I know he almost decided he didn’t have time to come, and then changed his mind.

And a whirlwind visit from Scott’s dad, who looked fit and was his same old self. We missed his wife though, and never more than when making the gravy!

The next night after Scott’s dad and C25 had left we headed over to the Shepherdess’s home for Thanksgiving #2. Another yummy and thankful time was had by all. This was also the eve of the trip two of their kids are making to Liberia. Wow.

D16 and his girlfriend want to go see Happy Feet tonight so we’re all going to go.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving

  1. TulipGirl says:

    I loved seeing the photos you shared of your men and boys around the table.

    My worst Thanksgiving ever was the meal I made for Hubby’s Ukrainian English language students. Oh, my. It was HORRID. Nearly inedible. The Ukrainians all said it was good–I’m not sure whether they were being polite or simply liked the novelty of it.

Leave a Reply

