A Lull in the Action

I figured I’d be slammed with work when I came back from vacation.  In fact while I was on vacation, I received a heads up from the management of a certain band that they were ready to use my services to do some updating on their site–a project we’d discussed some time ago.   When I thought of adding that to the work I already had lined up, I was a little nervous, but so far scheduling has always worked out fine, so I assumed I’d be very busy but that things would work out as they usually do.  However, none of those projects are moving forward at the moment for whatever reason.

So I’m in a lull.  I decided to use the time to become more familiar with Photoshop.  I normally use Fireworks as my go to tool for graphics and image adjusting.  I’m finding it both fun and frustrating.  Sometimes I’ll dive into a tutorial to learn a certain process and I’ll be an hour into it and think….gee, I bet I could do this same thing in Fireworks.  That happened today.

Here’s some worn edges on a photo border, an effect you frequently see.

wornedges_final

The tutorial that explains the basic idea on how to wear out those edges is here: http://www.cameronmoll.com/archives/000025.html

And then based on the next tutorial in that series I made a little retro-inspired logo for my husband’s hobby:

sethile_ourfinest_wood2

And then I worked on a tutorial for making a crazy over-the-top 80’s style design – I don’t foresee ever using this “look” but I learned a lot of basics in the process!

rockout_500

Next up, I followed a tutorial for making a photo look old:

dan_mom_south_dakota

And one more:

retro

cancelled

I’ve been adding to this post throughout the week as I have completed more tutorials.   The upshot is I am much more familiar with Photoshop now than I was, and the other day when I opened up Fireworks–my old standby that I have used for years–I felt a little bit disoriented!

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

